Sorting Feelings

As most of you know, my missionary daughter will be arriving home TOMORROW……….

The leap

She’s flying as I type…

Sorry, just had to take a moment to digest that statement…again.

I got up this morning and found an email message from the mission office with a farewell photo of her and a message on my FB page telling me she was on her way to the airport.

Of course I am soooo…excited. I have missed her absentmindedness (I’m sure she won’t mind me saying that), and I have missed the sound of her around the house (mostly not much sound as she was usually buried in a book somewhere). I miss her amazing smile, and all the times she said to me, “Oh, mum, don’t worry so much about it”. She is such a laid back kind of person…I miss her calming influence. I miss watching her with her sisters and brother, and how she almost always refused to enter into a quarrel or a fight (yes we have some of those in our house sometimes, don’ you?). I miss that she would often call me ‘mummy’, right up to the day she left on her mission. I miss her incredible dedication and commitment to any task she is given (most evident in her missionary service), but mostly I just miss having her around as part of the family….

So, I am really excited to have the old daughter back in just one day…with maybe some new parts to her as well. I know her mission has polished her, and I know she will come home so much more prepared for life, and have so much more to offer our family and her own down the track.

BUT….

There is a but…

There’s a lot about her being on her mission that I will miss too. As much as I want her here in our home again, there was just such a wonderful feeling when we received her emails each week. To read about all her investigators and the work she is involved in; actions not seen by us, but felt through her words. Sometimes we would receive photos from her and, altho’ we hadn’t been there, we were always able to make connections with them as she talked about the people she met, the miracles that occurred, and lessons learnt. I will also miss the blessings that came to us through her service; too personal to share here, but I will be eternally grateful for the sacrifice she has made that has affected our lives almost as much as hers.

So it is with mixed feelings that I approach her homecoming. Grateful to have her return with honor, but sad to know that this part of her life will soon be over.

Will I ever be able to sleep tonight?

2 thoughts on “Sorting Feelings

  1. What a wonderful post. My daughter comes home in two weeks, and I share your feeling exactly! Everyone is asking me ‘aren’t you so excited to have her home?’ The answer is yes, BUT. . .just like you said. I have felt such a powerful spirit while she has been serving, and I know that will change, as it must. But I will miss being a missionary mom.

    • It’s so bitter/sweet isn’t it Kathie? But I have to say it is fabulous to have her home. I hope to write about our reunion sometime over the next few days, but for the moment I am enjoying just having her here in the family again. Make the most of the lead up to your daughters arrival – I’m excited for you.

Leave a Comment...

