Coming Home

The day our missionary left

Today I got an email from my daughters mission.  It’s not often a parent gets them, so it was with some trepidation that I opened it. In those few seconds between seeing who the email was from and opening it a multitude of scenarios flashed through my mind. Death, injury, missing, arrested, or maybe even something positive like….ok, so I can’t think of anything positive, and maybe I couldn’t at the time. As someone said, “It’s a mother thing!”

We always think the worst when it involves someone we love. But being the optimist I am, I opened the email with great expectations.

Oh happy days! Of course! It was information about her mission completion date and her travel arrangements. But wait! It can’t be that close could it? Counting on fingers I have discovered that in exactly 110 days our sister missionary will be home!

I guess that means I have to start thinking about what that really means.

I would love for anyone who has experienced a missionary returning to let me know what to expect. I mean, I know I have experienced being a returned missionary, but I have never experienced being a parent of a returning missionary. What should I prepare for and how best can I pre-prepare for it?

Leave a Comment...

