My Faith

The Book of Mormon, Another Testament of Jesus...

The Book of Mormon, Another Testament of Jesus Christ. Published by , August 2009. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In my never ending exploration of social media and how far it can reach, I was experimenting with what Twitter can do today, and enjoyed where it took me. I was able to add a few new twitter names to my ‘following’ list, but one in particular was really great.

I don’t know if any of you are Twitterer’s, but this is a new thing for me, and I am finding it an effective means of, not only connecting with other LDS people, but also in assisting to broaden the presence of the church.

I wanted to share today’s discovery through twitter, as it touches on something I have discussed recently. That of the media’s poor representation of the church, and how each of us needs to be really careful about determining what is true and what is not.

It may also act as a help for our missionaries who are struggling with investigators caught up with anti-mormon literature.

The blog I came across is published by Lia London. Lia is an LDS writer, who is conducting an interesting experiment online. On her blog she is publishing a COMIC MYSTERY, chapter by chapter. The unique thing about this is she is calling for readers suggestions on where the storyline should go at the end of each chapter. The story line for the next chapter is then determined by the readers.

But that is not what I am writing about today.

Within this blog, Lia has included a post about her faith, titled…My Faith. In there she talks about her conversion, and how she managed to navigate the meaning of ‘Mormonism’, through the many contexts of the day, as she investigated the church.

I don’t want to say too much more about it, as I think it is worth reading and discovering her journey for yourself. So please go and visit Lia’s blog and have a read of her conversion story.

I see this as just another way that we can come closer to the work that our missionaries are involved in, and perhaps as a resource of information if our missionaries ever need some advice or help.

Let me know what you think of the article.

Also, let me know what you think about twitter. Do any of you use it?

2 thoughts on “My Faith

  1. Wow, thanks so much for helping me share my testimony! I have to admit that it took me a while to put that page on my blog. I wanted to be “professional” and focus on “writerly” things. But then I realized, I can’t hide who I am, and I am not ashamed of my faith. If people cannot abide me because I’m Mormon, well, then I lose a narrow-minded reader… But if I share my testimony and it helps turn a heart? Well, then that is worth everything!

    As for Twitter? It’s a very strange beast indeed. I wouldn’t call it a “social” network as is FB, but it certainly does help one meet up with like-minded people from all around the world–even “down under”! 🙂

    • HI Lia, thanks for visiting, and commenting. Sometimes it does take courage on our part to reveal certain parts of ourselves. Great that you took that leap. If you are interested in what Sis. Beck (former General RS President) said about lds women blogging, then check out my post https://missionarymums.wordpress.com/2012/03/30/160/
      Funny, I would have agreed with your comment about Twitter not being a social network tool a couple of days ago, but now I think I am seeing its reach. I met you through it, I also connect with other friends through it, and I connected two completely different blogs through it. While it may not be a mainstream social network tool, it certainly is a smaller player that adds depth to existing tools. Cheers…

Leave a Comment...

